EU Bans Americans

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

EUThe 31 countries of the European Union (EU) started to open on July 1 to international visitors and the United States is one of the countries that is banned from sending travelers.

The 14 countries that are permitted entry to the EU, include Canada, South Korea and Australia. According to the European Council, these countries have not been overwhelmed by the coronavirus.

The European Council reports that the list will be reviewed and updated every two weeks with countries being added or dropped based on whether they are keeping the COVID-19 pandemic under control.

As of July 1, the European Council will start lifting travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following countries: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

“A growing number of Americans have visited Europe over the past twenty years. Many European capitals, including Paris, Barcelona, Rome, Venice, and Madrid, are perennial top ten destinations for American travelers. While there may be genuine concerns from local officials regarding the spread of COVID-19, banning all Americans from travel to Europe is a short-sighted decision that could have unintended long term consequences, said Zane Kerby, president and CEO of the American Society of Travel Advisors (ASTA).

You Might Also Be Interested In

South Africa Slowly Reopens 

All Eyes on Milwaukee 

Mike Dominguez on the Comeback

New Normal at August Summit

Meeting Setups Post COVID-19

We Will Meet Again


Print Friendly, PDF & Email