Allergens can lurk in the most unsuspecting places. Avoid these foods if you have attendees with food allergies.
During MeetWell in Las Vegas, Prevue’s joint conference with the Incentive Research Foundation on integrating wellness into meetings, speaker Tracy Stuckrath of Thrive! Meetings & Events revealed 8 surprising food items or categories that can be dangerous for attendees with food allergies.
Smoothies often contain almond or other nut milks, an issue with attendees with nut allergies. (However, smoothies are a better choice than freshly squeezed juices. Juice extracts all the fiber from a vegetable or a fruit and leaves just the sugar, while smoothies keep the fiber and help people feel full.)
Milk chocolate items are not acceptable for vegans and attendees with lactose intolerance.
These are often found in candy bars at snack time. The first ingredient in this licorice candy is whey.
Au gratin, risotto, puree
Though they seem harmless, all of these are sources of dairy.
Au jus, demi-glace, Worcestershire
Beware of sauces, period. Any sauce is a potential source of allergens, so you need to clarify what is in them.
The dressing is for everyone’s favorite salad is often made with sardines.
Miso contains soy.
For more tips from MeetWell, download our free white paper: Integrating Wellness Into Meetings & Incentives.