EU Extends U.S. Travel Ban

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

EUThe European Union (EU) has extended its travel ban on U.S. citizens again as COVID-19 infections continue to rise in the United States.

On July 1, the EU started lifting its travel restrictions outside the block welcoming travelers from 14 countries that excluded the United States. Those countries that did make the cut included Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity).

“A growing number of Americans have visited Europe over the past twenty years. Many European capitals, including Paris, Barcelona, Rome, Venice, and Madrid, are perennial top ten destinations for American travelers. While there may be genuine concerns from local officials regarding the spread of COVID-19, banning all Americans from travel to Europe is a short-sighted decision that could have unintended long term consequences,” says Zane Kerby, president and CEO of the American Society of Travel Advisors (ASTA). “Our travel advisors report extraordinary pent up demand for travel. The European travel market is vital to the business of travel advisors. With the No Sail Order still in place, this proposed travel ban threatens to push our members’ businesses off a cliff. Punishing American travelers is short-sighted and economically irresponsible.”

The European Council is reviewing and updating this list every two weeks.

You Might Also Be Interested In

EU Bans Americans 

All Eyes on Milwaukee 

Mike Dominguez on the Comeback

New Normal at August Summit

Meeting Setups Post COVID-19

We Will Meet Again



Print Friendly, PDF & Email